Around and about the Faculty of Law

The Faculty of Law was established in 2015 following recommendations of expert studies on the state of legal education in the region. Our undergraduate degree program was duly accredited in February 2016. We recognize that we are operators in an increasingly crowded field of service providers. Therefore, we have determined from the outset that our mission must contribute to redefining quality standards in legal education in Eastern Africa. Our commitment to quality is evident in our program content, inputs, selection of learners and overall institutional positioning. Our curriculum is unique, progressive and clearly distinguishable from the alternatives. Our emphasis on research and writing skills throughout the program has been informed by needs assessment studies, extensive surveys and engagements with external stakeholders. Moreover, our program is delivered by a team of highly skilled and experienced academics with world class credentials, who serve on full-time basis. Learners admitted to study with us normally have above-average capability. We select only the most highly qualified students who have best prospects of thriving in our programme and represent realistic promise of a successful professional career in Law. We believe that our high admission criteria will help to strengthen the quality of graduates of our program, positioning them and our brand ahead of the rest. This, we believe is the calibre of lawyers that our increasingly complex world needs.

Evidently, we are not just another Law school. There is so much we would like to say about the progress we have made as we break new ground and demonstrate leadership in the Legal Education sector. This we shall do, in due course. For now, we enrol highly qualified, above-average students to pursue our superior curriculum, delivered by a world class Faculty. This is exactly what our stakeholders asked of us. We are pleased to focus on delivering it.

Since September 2016 when we held the first matriculation ceremony to solemnly consecrate our freshmen to this calling into our academic community, our mission continues to unfold. We look forward to graduating the pioneer class in July 2020. For our students and ourselves as a Community of scholars, our prospects are promising. Our future is bright. Soon, the very best of our best at Egerton is coming forth.

The Faculty of Law is based in Nakuru town, at the heart of the country. It is the first public university law school in the county whose urban population of 307,990 makes it the fourth largest town in Kenya and was until 2010 the seat of the former Rift Valley Province. In a UN Habitat study published in 2008, Nakuru was ranked as the fastest growing town in Africa with an annual growth rate of 13.3 per cent. Major railway and road infrastructure including the Kenya-Uganda Railway, the Namanga-Malaba A104 and the Nyeri-Nyahururu - Narok motorways and road links to Kabarnet and Kisumu conveniently intersect in Nakuru making it the most easily accessible university town for the majority of learners from the Rift Valley, Eastern, Western and Central Kenya regions. The town’s accessibility will be further enhanced when the current County government project to upgrade the Lanet airstrip into an international airport is completed.

Judicial institutions established in the town include the Court of Appeal Registry, High Court, Land and Environment Court, Industrial Court, Magistrates’ courts and Kadhi’s court. Nakuru town also hosts various human rights organizations, other civil society associations, national research institutions and the secretariat of the Rift Valley Law Society.

The landscape of Nakuru County is dotted with picturesque geological gems ranging from mountains, valleys, craters, fresh and salt water lakes, rivers and underground ovens. The Olkaria Geothermal Power Plant Complex and the Menengai Geothermal Wells occupy opposite poles of the county’s ring of fire. Mount Longonot and the Menengai Crater rise 9,108 and 7474 feet above sea level respectively. Lake Naivasha, Lake Nakuru and Lake Elmenteita are the main water bodies in the County, lying on the floor of the Great Rift Valley. River Njoro and Molo River descend south eastwards from the Mau Forest to drain into Lake Nakuru and Lake Baringo respectively. Lake Nakuru is also fed by underground river channels from the Kabatini aquifer. Conservation areas include the Mau Forest Complex, the Hells Gate National Park, Longonot National Park. In Nakuru town, the Nakuru National Park with its thriving ecosystem that includes the big cats, Southern White rhino, giraffes, buffalos, smaller herbivores, millions of world famous flamingos and countless other bird species attracts domestic and international tourists throughout the year. The Kenya Wildlife Services (KWS) provides guided tours to the park.

Our History

  • 2020 -
  • 2019 - Legal aid clinic project was launched
  • 2018 - New faculty dean was apointed
  • 2017 - Inauguration of the new building
  • 2016 - Undergraduate degree was duly accredited
  • 2015 - Faculty of law was established


"States are obligated to guarantee each individual’s right to go to court or, in some circumstances, access alternative dispute resolution forum to seek a remedy if it is found that the individual’s rights have been denied, violated, infringed or threatened."

NAP - Legal Aid